Blueberry crumble pie

Blueberry crumble pie

This week, for the first time in months, I didn’t have time to bake. It was weird to break my routine of Thursday evening/late night baking, but I have a perfect excuse. Two weeks ago my dad sent me a message asking if I was free the following weekend to come home (Riga). Hell yeah, I was free and wanted to go home! It was a perfect timing for an improvised visit as I was already homesick and couldn’t wait another two months until Christmas.

Luckily, I had a couple of recipes in my archive a.k.a. endless collection of drafts. Actually, I can’t believe I didn’t publish this one earlier, because this must be one of the easiest and tastiest pies ever!

I’ve noticed that most of the times simple bakes taste much better than fancy cakes that take hours to make. Why so?! No idea, but I don’t mind, because it means I get to eat delicious pie that takes close to nothing to prepare.

Blueberries are not exactly in season anymore, but I just can’t let them go! I promise that wintery bakes are coming, but for now just try this pie and you will see why I have trouble saying bye to summer berries.

 

BLUEBERRY CRUMBLE PIE (Based on recipe by Kleinworth & Co)

Ingredients

Crust & Topping
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
160 g cold butter (cubed)

Filling
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
2 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup sour cream
grated peel of half lemon
pinch of salt

Preparation

  1. Grease 25 cm round pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 170°c.
  2. Add flour, sugar, salt and cubed butter to a medium bowl. Using your hands mix until combined & crumbly.
  3. Set aside 1 cup of this crumble mix.  Take remaining part and firmly press into your cake pan, covering the bottom. Bake for about 15 minutes or until light golden.
  4. While crust is baking whisk eggs in a large bowl. Add sugar, sour cream, flour, salt and grated lemon zest.
  5. Gently fold in blueberries.
  6. When crust is ready remove it  from the oven and add the filling. Be careful not to crush too many blueberries.
  7. Sprinkle with remaining crust mixture that was set aside.
  8. Bake 1 hour or until top is lightly browned.
  9. Cool and place in refrigerator overnight. Serve at room temperature.

Blueberry crumble pie

IMG_2228

With this recipe I’m joining in Casa Castello weekly recipe sharing event, because sharing is caring. Especially if a pie is involved!

Casa Costello
18 thoughts on “Blueberry crumble pie

    • Thank you! Same addiction here. I’ve been planning to bake something with apples and cranberries for the last month, but every time ended up buying raspberries or blueberries instead 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

