Double chocolate muffins

Double chocolate muffins

If chocolate had a Facebook account, our relationship status at the moment would be “it’s complicated.” Don’t take me wrong, I absolutely love chocolate, but for a long time I was an overly attached consumer. Then something I didn’t believe could happen occurred – I had enough.

Instead of triple chocolate everything I now prefer only double chocolate treats like these double chocolate muffins. Unbelievable, but true.

I am sure it is just a short crisis in our relationship and I will go back to triple chocolate soon, but at the moment this recipe works very well for me! What about you? Would you go for single, double, triple or quadruple(yes, they do exist) muffins/cakes?

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE MUFFINS (Makes 10)

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
¾ cup sugar
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons baking powder
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/3 cup sour cream or full fat plain yogurt
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup chocolate chips

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F).
  2. In a medium bowl cream together butter, sugar, sour cream/yogurt, and vanilla extract until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs, one at a time. Beat the mixture between each addition until just incorporated.
  4. In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking powder, cocoa powder, and salt. Add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with the milk, in 2-3 additions each.
  5. Mix in chocolate chips until evenly distributed.
  6. Spoon the mixture in muffin cups and bake for about 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Double chocolate muffins
Double chocolate muffins

This week I’m sharing the recipe with A Mummy Too and lovely people who read and join her Recipe of the week posts.

<a title="Temporary permalink. Click to edit this part." href="http://www.amummytoo.co.uk/2014/11/Link up your recipe of the week
16 thoughts on “Double chocolate muffins

  1. I have the same relationship with chocolate too! But my reason is because it gives me terrible migraines… 😦 The recipe seems very yummy and I am going to bookmark it so I can make it in the future 🙂 Loved the blog! 🙂

    Like

  2. My daughter is where you used to be……she’s overly chocolate obsessed…. lol. She always tells me she just can’t help herself, when chocolate is involved… Lol. The muffins look amazing!!!! I have to make them for my little chocolate lover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

