Raspberry chocolate bundt cake

Raspberry chocolate bundt cake

Bonjour! Last week saw me abandoning my regular Thursday baking sessions for a weekend in Paris. As this wasn’t my first time there, this trip was dedicated to indulging my taste buds and trying as many baked goods as possible. I am truly inspired to bake more after all the mouth-watering cakes I’ve seen and tried.

Having no self-control and excuse of “eating for science and research” is a dangerous thing though. Over three days, I managed to eat (read “test/assess”) about two baguettes, a croissant and pain au chocolat, two amazing éclairs and one gorgeous pepite au chocolat pastry. I’m not encouraging anyone to do this, but can you really blame me when everything looks so delicious:

IMG_2765

IMG_2763

IMG_2769

Luckily, even though I was away I have a recipe for you, guys! Recipe of this super moist, incredibly rich and chocolaty cake was somehow lost among my baking notes.

This one was made some time ago and I’m not entirely sure why I didn’t post the recipe earlier. The only explanation I can think of is that I wanted to keep it all for myself. But it’s time for this cake to shine now.

RASPBERRY CHOCOLATE BUNDT CAKE

Ingredients

Cake
1 3/4 cups plain flour
1 ½ cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups milk
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/3 cup raspberry jam
1 cup hot strong black coffee

Icing
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 to 2 tablespoons milk

Preparation

For the cake:

  1. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  2. Spray a bundt cake pan with cooking spray and dust the pan with a little bit of flour.
  3. In a large mixing bowl whisk together the flour, white sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add the milk, eggs, oil and vanilla and raspberry jam; mix until combined.
  4. Whisk in the hot coffee until completely incorporated. The batter will be quite thin, but don’t worry.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 45 to 55 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out nearly clean. Cool the cake in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes, then remove it from the pan and allow to cool completely.

To make the icing:

  1. Whisk together the powdered sugar, vanilla and just enough of milk to make a thick but pourable icing. Set the cooled cake on a serving plate and drizzle the icing over the top, allowing it to drip down the sides.
  2. Decorate with fresh raspberries and refrigerate for a couple of hours ( I did overnight) to let the icing set.

Serve at room temperature.

IMG_2197 (2)

IMG_2206 (2)

#CookBlogShare

21 thoughts on “Raspberry chocolate bundt cake

  1. Oh my goodness, your photos of Parisian baking make everything look amazing! Lovely cake too – very Christmassy 🙂 Have you ever tried baking baguettes before? I’m keen to try but the results would probably be disappointing…

    Like

  2. Hey, I’ve been looking for an alternative Christmas cake to make for my family over Christmas and this caught my eye! I would prefer to avoid a chocolate log if I can, only because I find them a bit boring generally, but I’m wondering if this combination of chocolate and raspberry could be the answer to my dilemma! Would you recommend this as a festive cake?

    Like

    • Hi, Erika! Glad you found something you liked on my blog. To be honest, I have never baked or even tried chocolate log, so it is hard to tell if you will find this more exciting. However, when I baked this cake for my friends it disappeared in a few minutes and there were only 4 people at the table 😀

      If you are looking for something for Christmas Day, I would definitely recommend this apple and cranberry pie (https://heycakes.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/apple-and-cranberry-crumble-pie/). I´ll be making this one for my family too 🙂

      Like

      • Ok great recommendation, thanks Diana. I’ll make the crumble pie – my husband is already really looking forward to it. I’ll let you know how I get on. Merry Christmas, hope you have a lovely day 🙂

        Like

      • I had a great Christmas thanks Diana – I hope you did too? The pie was delicious, a great recipe! Plus my picky husband loved it, so it’s one I’ll be making again!

        Like

Leave a Reply

