Apple and cranberry crumble pie

Apple and cranberry crumble pie

When snow is forecasted for north of the UK only, one must take proactive steps to create the festive feeling. With that in mind last week my boyfriend and I decorated our home Christmas stylz and I finally baked a wintery pie as the second advent was fast approaching.

This pie is a festive variation of blueberry crumble pie I baked some time ago. The original pie is delicious, but this might just be better! It’s full of flavour, but light at the same time. Sweet and equally refreshing. In fact, I liked it so much that I ate a quarter of it myself before bringing it to a friend’s party and had to invent a story about someone stealing that bit of a pie (if someone from the party is reading this – I regret nothing).

APPLE AND CRANBERRY CRUMBLE PIE

Ingredients

Crust & Topping
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
160 g cold butter (cubed)
1/3 cup chocolate chips for topping (optional)

Filling
1 cup cranberries
2 medium sized apples, sliced
2 eggs
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup sour cream
Pinch of salt
½ teaspoon cinnamon

Preparation

  1. Grease a cake pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 170°c.
  2. Add flour, sugar, salt and cubed butter to a medium bowl, using your hands mix until combined and crumbly.
  3. Take 1 cup of mixture and set aside. Take remaining mixture and firmly press into your baking dish, covering the bottom. Bake 15 minutes.
  4. While crust is baking- whisk eggs in a large bowl.
  5. Add sugar, sour cream, flour and salt and cinnamon.
  6. Gently fold in cranberries and sliced apple.
  7. Set aside.
  8. When crust is ready – remove from oven and add filling, gently spooning over the top of the crust.
  9. Combine the crumbly mixture you had set aside with chocolate chips (optional). Sprinkle over the filling.
  10. Bake 1 hour or until top is lightly browned.
  11. Cool and place in refrigerator overnight. Serve at room temperature.

IMG_2941 (2)

IMG_3005 (2)

Cranberries_badge

21 thoughts on “Apple and cranberry crumble pie

  1. Thanks for this recipe! I now know that I need to use the cold butter for crumble topping, as suppose to melted one. Tried to make this cake my self recently, but the topping failed due to butter. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Diana, thanks for stopping by my blog and the like. Hopefully bump into you there again soon! I’m enjoying exploring your blog and your photos look lovely 🙂 my husband is really picky with his desserts but loves apple crumble, so I’ll give your variation a go!

    Like

  3. I’ve just looked at your blog. Recipes are really great and this pie looks amazing, one of the best things I’ve found here so far. I’ll just keep looking, who knows what else I can find 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! Glad you like my blog. This recipe is one of my favourites. I love how you can make so many different variations of it using whatever fruit is in season! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

