Cottage cheese and almond rolls

Cottage cheese and almond rolls
I made these beauties yesterday for my first official brunch. I call it official just because I was up and cooking for it since 9am on Saturday morning. I don’t remember last time I was awake at that hour on Saturday…

It was totally worth it though! I will take it as a good sign that all these rolls belong to the past now. As does the spinach and cheddar loaf, recipe for which is coming soon.

In the meantime, here is the recipe for rolls that disappeared in a record time.

COTTAGE CHEESE AND ALMOND ROLLS

Ingredients

Dough  (Adapted from Inspired Craft Ideas)
1 sachet active dry yeast
1 cup warm milk
½ cup sugar
50 g melted butter (about ¼ cup)
½ teaspoon salt
2 eggs
4 cups of flour

Filling
300g of cottage cheese (about 1 cup)
½ cup sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ cup chopped almonds + extra for topping

Preparation

Dough:

  1. In a large bowl dissolve yeast in the warm milk.
  2. Add sugar and 1 cup of the flour. Stir well. Cover the bowl and set aside to rise for about 30-40 minutes or until it has doubled in size
  3. Add warm (not hot) melted butter, salt, eggs and remaining flour one cup at time mixing after each addition.
  4. Knead the dough in the bowl for about 5 minutes until all flour incorporated and the dough reaches slightly sticky and elastic consistency.
  5. Cover the bowl with a cloth and let rise in a warm place for about 1 hour.
  6. Once risen, move the dough to a well floured surface and roll it out into a rectangle (approximate size 50cm x 32cm)
  7. To make the filling mix together cottage cheese (if it is very dry, add a tablespoon of sour cream or natural yogurt), sugar, vanilla and almonds.
  8. Mix well and spread over the surface of the dough.
  9. Starting from the long edge carefully roll the dough until it is one big fatty roll.
  10. Cut the roll in 12 (more or less) even pieces and place on a baking tray lined with baking paper.
  11. Generously brush rolls with slightly beaten egg and set aside to rise for another 20 minutes.
  12. Bake at 170C 20-25 minutes or until golden.
  13. Sprinkle with chopped almonds while rolls are still warm (optional)

Cottage cheese ansd almond rolls

Cottage cheese and almond rolls
#CookBlogShare

Casa Costello
Link up your recipe of the week
26 thoughts on “Cottage cheese and almond rolls

    • Aw, thank you! I was surprised that I couldn’t find these in UK. Cottage cheese is a commonly used filling for pastries in Latvia. Didn’t know it’s just Eastern European thing 🙂

      Like

  1. Mmm mm – they look great! I hadn’t heard of using cottage cheese in pastries before but I’d love to give this a try and see what it tastes like.

    Like

  2. I’m just about to put these in the oven! They look really good! I was trying to think of a way to use up the cottage cheese I bought, I never would have thought to put it in a dessert. the only change I made was to add a pinch of cinnamon to the cottage cheese mixture. I really like that these don’t have a frosting like cinnamon rolls do, no guilt when eating these for breakfast!

    Like

  3. That is so looks good. So I made it for half of size. Most of ingredients are half of amount . I let my Bread machine for dough. Once in a while I peeking inside dryness. When I took out from Bread machines kneading posses ,then I just lest dough for 5 min. And starting to rolling for smaller size than this recipe. I did make filling and put on this dough. And rolled up and cut it about 8 rolls or so. Brushed it with egg on this top and almonds tips. And another 40 min for double sized. Then finally baked this for 15 min or so. But inside dough are not completely done. I thought everything look good and fine for me ( I’ve been experienced many times baking from sweets to bread ) but I don’t know why not 100 % baked. 15 % or so still dowey………. Do you have any idea ? Thank you .

    Like

    • Hi Yuri! I’m sorry this happened! I see that you baked them for 15 minutes, but recipe suggests to bake them for 20-25 minutes. I think those last 10 minutes would make the difference. If you notice that they are getting dark at 15 minutes just cover the rolls with foil and bake covered for further 10 minutes. Hope this helps and it works out next time you try it 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you for your advice and reply ! Yes I did found not enough baking time, so exactly just like you said I did about for 10 more minutes bake again with foil. It was not so much different.Still bottom of the bread was dowey So I think not enough risen up or yeast what I measurement for half of amount from that recipe. I’m going to try to put on more yeast next time. Thank you so much !

        Like

      • I have never made dough in bread machine so I won’t be able to say what went wrong, unfortunately. I hope it turns out better next time 🙂

        Like

  4. Just made them today!!! Soooo good!! I love almonds and cottage cheese, great combination. Reminds me of the non oversweet pastries when I lived back in Europe. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It’s definitely a keeper.

    Like

  5. I just made these. They are delicious. I’ve never baked rolls before, so I would have appreciated instruction on how far apart to place them on my baking sheet. Also, I know that cottage cheese consistency varies a lot by country. I’m in Canada and ours has pretty big curds. I think next time I would mix the filling in the food processor, to get a more even texture. Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

