Chocolate chip cake

Chocolate chip cake

It was a Friday evening and I thought I must bake something before I go out, because weekend is the only time I can catch enough light to take good pictures. Considering the circumstances it had to be something fast, easy and simple.

Glass of wine in one hand, mixer in other I then quickly put together this chocolate chip cake that is so simple, yet absolutely delicious. Believe me, “Hangover me” was very thankful for this treat on Saturday morning. It also stores very well in an airtight container so you can enjoy it for breakfast or afternoon tea for at least 3 days.

CHOCOLATE CHIP CAKE

Ingredients

250g butter
225g sugar (about 1 cup)
4 eggs
280g flour (2 cups)
ΒΎ teaspoon baking powder
100ml milk
100g dark chocolate chips
Few drops of vanilla extract

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease loaf tin. (Mine is 25cm)
  2. In a large bowl beat together butter, sugar and vanilla extractΒ until light and creamy.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition until incorporated.
  4. Alternating between the two add sifted flour that has been mixed with baking powder. For example, add half cup of flour, then a quarter of milk and so on.
  5. Mix in chocolate chips until evenly distributed.
  6. Bake for one hour or until toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Chocolate chip cake
Chocolate chip cake

Casa Costello
11 thoughts on “Chocolate chip cake

    • Hi, Farhana! I didn’t have any problems with that as this dough is really thick, but I’ve heard that some people dust chocolate chips with flour to prevent them from sinking.

      Like

  1. I made this cake this week and I was really pleased with the results! However, I found that one cup of sugar is 225g, and 2 cups of flour is 280g so you might want to edit the recipe πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

