Blueberry and orange cake

Blueberry and blood orange cake

Spring is my favourite season. I love to watch nature slowly waking up. Even though there are still no signs of spring in London, for some reason I believe that it is just around the corner. Each time the sun comes out I hope it is here to stay and only then I remember that it is February.

However, I keep thinking that if I pretend that the spring is here, it might actually come sooner. For example, next week I am going to first bbq of the year and lately I am really tempted to bake something fresh and light to brighten up the days.

My quest to bringing early spring to London starts with this colourful bake. It is a blueberry sponge cake soaked in blood orange cream cheese glaze and topped with light pink blood orange buttercream frosting. For me it seems like a perfect cake for a garden party. It is rich, indulgent and full of fruity flavours. A kind of cake you’d share with friends on a sunny day.

Before I move on to the recipe, I would like to say a special thank you to amazing photographer Gerard Puigmal, who took photos of this week’s bake. Massive thank you!

BLUEBERRY AND BLOOD ORANGE CAKE

Ingredients

Cake
320g soft butter
280g (1 1/4 cups) sugar
1/2 teaspooon vanilla
6 eggs
2 teaspoons baking powder
420g flour (about 3 cups)
150ml milk
1 cup blueberries

Glaze
250g cream cheese
125g (1 cup) icing sugar
Juice of one blood orange
Peel of 2 blood oranges, grated

Frosting
120g soft butter
180g (1 1/2 cups) icing sugar
2 tablespoons plain yogurt
3 tablespoons fresh blood orange juice

Preparation

Cake:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease three 20cm cake pans.
  2. In a large bowl beat together butter, sugar and vanilla until light and creamy.
  3. Add eggs one at a time beating after each addition.
  4. In a separate medium bowl mix together flour and baking powder.
  5. Start adding flour and milk to butter mixture alternating between two and mixing after each additionΒ e.g. add quarter of milk, mix, add quarter of flour, mix and so on.
  6. Gently fold in blueberries.
  7. Divide between three pans and bake for about 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Glaze:

  1. In a food processor or using blender beat together glaze ingredients
  2. When assembling the cake pour glaze over each layer with last bit of glaze going on the top of the cake.
  3. Place in refrigerator for at least 3 hours or overnight.

Frosting:

  1. Beat together softened butter and icing sugar until light and creamy.
  2. Add yogurt and fresh juice.
  3. Spread over the cake.
  4. Decorate the cake with sprinkles or whatever else you want. Use your imagination here.

Blueberry and blood orange cake
Blueberry and blood orange cake
Blueberry and blood orange cake
This week I’m sharing my recipe with:
#CookBlogShare

Link up your recipe of the week
Casa Costello

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

22 thoughts on “Blueberry and blood orange cake

  1. This looks so lovely and definitely springtime-y! I have been looking for blood oranges for absolutely ages with no luck – need to keep trying. Such a lovely cake #CookBlogShare

    Like

  2. I saw a tree with a few flecks of blossom one morning as I was walking to work and managed to convince myself that spring was here despite the fact that it was a freezing and dark February morning. So I know how you feel lol. Love the post and the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

