Rhubarb and orange cake

Rhubarb is one nostalgia inducing plant for me. Every time I have it, I go back in time to the summer breaks spent at my grandparents house in the countryside. With my childhood friends we got up to so much mischief during the long summer days. One of those was an occasional visit to one of our neighbour’s garden to steal some rhubarb stalks. We didn’t even like fresh rhubarb. As if it was yesterday, I remember us sitting on a bench and chewing the tart rhubarb. I guess it was the adrenaline and sense of adventure we were going for. Was it just me or you also got up to this sort of little mischiefs as a kid?

So these were my approximate thoughts while I was enjoying this simple yet delicious rhubarb cake as an afternoon snack. Well, actually also next day for breakfast. When I bake a cake, I have trouble stopping until it’s finished and it was definitely true with this yummy coffee cake.

RHUBARB AND ORANGE CAKE (Recipe adapted from Marina Neri “Kūkas”)

Ingredients

300g plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
125g soft butter
200g caster sugar
grated peel of 2 oranges
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 eggs
125ml milk
300g rhubarb, cut in thin slices

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Grease round cake pan.
  2. Mix together flour, baking powder and soda.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat butter with sugar, orange peel and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition. Add milk and mix.
  4. Gradually mix in the dry ingredients. Pour the batter into the cake pan and top with rhubarb slices evenly covering the top of the cake.
  5. Bake for 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. If the top is becoming too dark before the centre is ready, just cover the cake with foil and bake until the centre is done.

rhubarb and orange cake

rhubarb and orange cake

rhubarb and orange cake

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb and orange cake

  1. The cake sounds yummy! I’ve only recently started to love rhubarb. When I was little i’d get very upset when the delicious looking crumble for pudding on a Sunday turned out to be made with rhubarb instead of apple!

    Jennie xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

