Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

I‘ve got some pretty big news to share this week, guys! Starting from June Hey Cakes HQ is moving out of London as my boyfriend and I have decided to start a new life in Barcelona. Well, actually it won’t be a completely new life as we’ve got family and quite a few friends living there. So I would rather call it a relocation with hope that some day all my friends move there (yup, I’m that selfish).

I have already quit my day job, but we haven’t started packing yet, so at this moment I have too much time on my hands. That, of course, means lots of bakin’, bakin’, bakin’ and sticking to recipes that allow me to use up whatever I already have in the food cupboard. These dark chocolate chip oat biscuits are a perfect sweet, crunchy and chunky example of that.

DARK CHOCOLATE CHIP OAT BISCUITS (Makes 20)

Ingredients

115g butter, softened
115g light brown sugar
1 egg
100g rolled oats
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
125g plain flour
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
75g of dark chocolate (I used 85% dark chocolate), broken into pieces

Preparation

  1. Grease 2 large baking sheets and preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. In a large bowl beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg. Add oats, milk and vanilla extract and beat until combined.
  3. Mix in the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder. Fold in the chocolate pieces.
  4. Place spoonfuls of the biscuit mixture on the prepared baking sheets and move the tray into the freezer for about 10 minutes.
  5. Bake for about 15-17 minutes or until the biscuits have slightly risen, but are still soft to the touch. Transfer to wire rack to let the biscuits cool completely.

Adapted from The Sweet Treats Collection book by Love Food

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

14 thoughts on “Dark chocolate chip oat biscuits

Leave a Reply

