Almond cupcakes with strawberry frosting

Strawberry almond cupcakes

These cupcakes are based on an almond cake recipe I got from Marina Neri’s book “Cakes”. When I first read the recipe I thought there was an error and the writer just forgot to add a couple of ingredients as it did not include neither flour nor butter/oil. This was also a reason it caught my eye and I decided to give it a try.

Seeing ground almonds as one of the main ingredients was more than a hint that the flavour with turn out rich so I had to go light with frosting. This strawberry frosting is just that. A while back when I went to London I brought some freeze dried strawberries. Yeah, when I go there I don’t do duty free, I do Sainsbury’s as there are so many things I can’t find here in Barcelona. Anyways, I have been saving those strawberries for something special and this seemed like a perfect chance for them to shine. It turned out just as expected – light and creamy with subtle flavour of summer days.

Strawberry almond cupcakes

ALMOND CUPCAKES WITH STRAWBERRY FROSTING (Makes 12)

Ingredients

Cupcakes
4 eggs
150g sugar
grated peel of 1 lemon
200g ground almonds

Frosting
250g mascarpone
4g freeze dried strawberries, ground into a powder
100g icing sugar
red food colouring

Fresh strawberries for decorating

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 160Β°C. Line muffin tin with cupcake cases.
  2. In a medium bowl beat together eggs, sugar and lemon peel until fluffyΒ and light in colour (about 4-5 minutes).
  3. Fold in almonds until combined. Spoon into prepared cases, about 3/4 full. Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into cupcakes comes out clean.
  4. To prepare frosting, beat together mascarpone and ground freeze dried strawberries. Add icing sugar and red food colouring. Mix until combined. Transfer frosting into a piping bag and decorate cupcakes as desired. Decorate with fresh strawberries (optional).

Strawberry almond cupcakes
Strawberry almond cupcakes
Strawberry almond cupcakes

 

7 thoughts on “Almond cupcakes with strawberry frosting

  1. Lovely! I like the no oil/butter for the cupcake and what a frosting !! I’m usually not so much of a fan about frosting but this one looks very light and well… Strawberries… It must be delicious ! I must try it too as I have some frozen strawberries too πŸ˜‰ thanks !

    Like

  2. A beautiful blog! Can’t wait to discover all the goodies inside!! Thanks for dropping by my blog….nice to see new faces!! alittleredheartbakery.com

    Like

    • Hi Sarah, I think this recipe would make enough frosting for the layers but if you also want to cover the outside of the cake I would suggest to make extra frosting. I think extra half of the original recipe would do πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

